Editor In Butch

Lemon Ricotta “Pancakes”

In The Nouveau Butch, Tools of the Trade on May 12, 2010 at 2:12 am

Before I share with you all my secret recipe for lemon-ricotta pancakes, please note that my girlfriend does not eat sugar.  She does not eat flour.  She does not eat anything remotely resembling a refined carbohydrate…well, unless you think Splenda resembles a carb–that she’ll consume by the truckload.  *If this is a total turn off to your taste-buds, feel free to sub sugar where necessary.  These egg-based pancakes will resemble a crepe more closely than a pancake.  But, as I am not French, and I don’t own a crepe-pan, I feel I have no business calling these crepes.  I will, however, unabashedly call them delicious.

Step 1: Zest one lemon.  (Use a cheese-grater if you don’t have a micro-plane, but zest that bad-boy bald.)

Step 2: Crack 4 eggs and beat thoroughly with 1/2 cup ricotta cheese and 1/4 cup of fat-free half-and-half, sprinkle some salt & pep in there while you’re at it.

Step 3: Add 2 heaping Tablespoons of Splenda and 1/2 the lemon zest to the egg-mixture.  Beat thoroughly.

Step 4:  Cut another 2.5 TBS of Splenda and the remaining lemon zest into 4 TBS of butter.  Set aside for topping.

Pour egg mixture in a thin layer over a well-greased (preferably with butter), small frying pan.  When thin pancake starts to bubble, tilt pan until entire mixture is solid, then flip.  Repeat until egg mixture is gone (should yield 4-6 pancakes).  Put a dollop of lemon-butter atop your stack of pancakes and drop a few fresh blueberries onto the stack.  Garnish with a sprig of mint and serve with Iced Green Tea.  A delicious way to start off any summer day.

Cheers,

E.I.B.

  1. Yumm…..I need to make these.

    Mon

Leave a comment